While there’s no doubt that we are in difficult times, giving the teams and drivers ample notice is necessary so that they could plan accordingly for the upcoming season of the Asian Le Mans Series 2020/2021.

After a successful 2019/2020 season, the 2020/2021 season will still feature four races, each in four hours length. The series will kick off at the Suzuka Circuit, Japan on November 29th and it is also the series’ first time running at the iconic circuit.

The series will then move on to Shanghai International Circuit, China for Round 2 on December 13th, followed by the Buriram Chang International Circuit in Thailand on January 9th 2021. The final race of the season will then be held at Sepang International Circuit as a night race once again on January 23rd.

The series is a bit more packed and finishes earlier compared to the previous ones as the organizers wishes to avoid clashes with significant events in the region such as the Chinese New Year happening mid-February. With an early finish of the season, the teams will have sufficient time to ship their cars back before the start of the European, American or Australasian championships.

There will be four classes competing in the series: LMP2, LMP2 Am, LMP3 and GT. The only change from the 2020/2021 season will be to the cars eligible in both LMP2 Am and LMP3 categories. From the 2019/2020 Asian Le Mans Series, only the latest generation LMP2 cars will be eligible to race in both the outright and Am Trophy class.


Asian Le Mans Series 2020/2021 Season calendar

Round 1 – Suzuka, Japan – 29 November 2020

Round 2 – Shanghai, China – 13 December 2020

Round 3 – Buriram, Thailand – 9 January 2021

Round 4 – Sepang, Malaysia – 23 January 2021