Lai Wee Sing wins the 2020 MCS Race 1

Lai Wee Sing wins the 2020 MCS Race 1

The start of the 2020 MCS race 1

After a long delay due to the MCO, the 2020 Malaysian Championship Series finally kicks off with a bang as a part of the 2020 Merdeka Race weekend. And the season could not start any better for R Engineering HMRT Team as they emerged as the victors of the 2020 MCS season after Lai Wee Sing wins Race 1.

  1. Touring Production
  2. Malaysia Touring Car
  3. S Production 1
  4. S Production 2


HMRT Civic FC fending off SITTY Racing's FD2R

Fielding their newly-developed #39 Honda Civic FC 1.5, it was a tight battle to the end for Lai Wee Sing as he wins the Touring Production class in Race 1 with 0.78 seconds to spare . “I’m so happy as it is my first-time racing with the new car. We modified the car for almost a year. I want to thank my crew and all my sponsors. The team did a good job today. We are very confident that we can end the first race in very consistent time.”

Starting the race from fourth place on the grid, Akid Azlee from Sitty Racing did a good job in pursuing the Civic FC in the 22-lap race and drove his #50 Civic FD2R to finish in second place. Completing the podium was Mohd Fikri Rahim in the #321 BHP Racing Team’s Honda Civic FD2R.


They might not be the fastest in qualifying, but the duo of Farouk Abdul Kathir and Sim Kwong Teck managed to claw their way up to take the win for the Malaysia Touring Car category. “The race was quite tough; we went out with a plan which turned out to be a great strategy. The first driver pushed and the second driver conserved to complete the race. Tomorrow we are looking forward to put our best for MCS Race 2,” said Farouk.

Farid Sani and Victor Cheong took second place in the #36 Kegani Racing Suzuki Swift, while Chin Hwa Lip and Selim Azrani Abdul Rafique in the #99 Suzuki Swift settled for third place.


It was a lively race in the S Production classes as well with a combined number of 20 cars in both SP1 and SP2 categories. Competition was stiff, but it was a day to celebrate for Hanafi Husin and Hayden Haikal as they won the SP1 class in the #85 Honda Civic FD2.

Far from being a stranger in the scene, Mark Darwin partnered Mun Yi Quan in the #30 Project E Honda Civic and finished second place, followed by the brothers of Brendan Paul Anthony and Bradley Benedict Anthony who finished third in the Dream Chaser-prepped #100 Civic FD.


Finally in the SP2 category, Ady Rahimy Rashid had built a comfortable 22-second gap from Keifli Othman to take home the class win. Finishing third was his fellow BHP Racing teammates Khair Nur Ady and Khair Nur Adly driving the #888 Suzuki Swift.

It was also a special occasion in SP2 where the 2019’s Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) ASB 1000 winner, Azlan Shah made his debut in four-wheel racing partnering with Mohd Syu’ib racing for Empire M Racing Team in the #43, Suzuki Swift.

“Such a great experience for me where I started the race in 25th position. We pushed until we got into 7th position and exchange drivers, I had a problem with the car especially on the ECU. To compare, two-wheel and four-wheel is totally different.”

Full timing and results